Learn About Diamonds

We strive to make sure our customers purchase the best diamond for their dream ring, thats why at Goldland Jewellery you will always be educated by our staff about the 5 most important c's. Our diamond jewellery comes with a certificate from the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) which is a detailed and informative, certified, document about the diamond purchased. Also provided are Evaluation Paperwork about your ring which is done by a third party company known as DCLA who are government approved and certified diamond experts. All our diamond jewellery comes with a lifetime diamond warranty certificate which allows you to always get a free polish for your piece, repairs and resizing for rings.

  • CUT






The cut (or ‘Make’) of a diamond is a most important feature. Cut refers to the angles and proportions a skilled craftsman creates in transforming a rough diamond into a polished diamond and is not a reference to the shape of the stone. Even if a diamond has the highest colour and clarity, a poor cut will result in the diamond having a dulled brilliance. A well proportioned diamond follows strict mathematical proportions. The light entering the diamond from the top will be internally reflected from one facet to another within the diamond before reflecting back through the top, and returning to the eye of the observer, giving the stone maximum brilliance, scintillation and fire.


Most gem quality diamonds fall within a range from “D” colourless to “Z” light yellow. Almost all have a trace of yellow, brown or gray body colour. The colour of a diamond is determined on the basis of a visual assessment by comparing it to a set of master diamonds under laboratory conditions. The differences between colours are very subtle and graded according to the International Colour Grading Scale. With the exception of some natural fancy colours, such as blue, pink, purple, yellow or red, the colorless grade is the most valuable.

Carat weight

The weight of a diamond is expressed in carats. 1 carat equals 0.2 grams. A carat is further subdivided into 100 points.

Weight is the most obvious factor in determining the value of a diamond. But two diamonds of equal weight can have very unequal values, depending on their quality. Furthermore weight only indicates size. Depending on proportions two diamonds weighing the same may appear very different in size. Internationally, the weight of a diamond is mentioned to two decimal places.


The clarity or purity of diamonds is determined according to the effect that inclusions and marks have on the appearance of the stone when viewed faced up at 10x magnification. The size, colour, number, location and general visibility of any internal inclusions or external markings are taken into account in determining the clarity grade of the diamond. Inclusions are ranked on a scale of perfection, ranging from FL (Flawless – no internal or external inclusions visible under x10 magnification) to P (pique) or I (Included) inclusions visible to the naked eye. If the inclusions are not visible to the naked eye, the diamond is deemed ‘eye’ clean. The position of the inclusion is important in choosing a diamond. Some inclusions at or near the edge, can be hidden by a mount and therefore have a lesser effect on the beauty of a diamond. Any inclusion in the middle or top of a diamond, however, could be more visible and have more impact on its appearance making the diamond less attractive.


When you see this symbol, you can be sure you're buying an independently certified diamond. Independent certification is essential. It provides an accurate, unbiased description of the quality of the diamond and assures you that the diamond is natural and untreated.

74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All